That Known Face

That known face after so many years,

A hint of smile mixed with tears.

Sudden pause before the heartfelt hug,

How I missed this life saving drug!

 

How are you? Where have you been?

My friend let us relive our days of teen.

Once best friends, partners in crime;

Together our life was a beautiful rhyme.

 

Remember the mango tree in our garden?

Our dream world, our little heaven.

It could not withstand the pain of age,

It was finally killed by nature’s rage.

 

Remember the pond near our playground,

Where our happiness knew no bound.

It got buried deep under concrete and skyscraper,

Corporate has snatched our means of pleasure.

 

The old man who used to tell stories?

Of raging kings and beautiful fairies.

He has also left me a long time back,

His knapsack of stories has none to unpack.

 

Then you left with your family and business,

I got stuck in my poverty and stress.

Suddenly I was all alone with nowhere to go,

I could not write a letter to let you know.

 

My health deteriorated as time went by,

But I did not have a shoulder to cry.

Your money paid for the medicine bill,

But your absence made me more ill.

 

Now that you are here, I can breathe again;

Even in my deathbed, I can enjoy the rain.

Please hold my hand when I sleep forever,

Our friendship has always been my greatest treasure.

 

p1070698.jpg

Leave a Reply

